Apple not letting iPod Touch users upgrade to v. 2.2

26Dec08

Today, I wanted to install the 2.2 Update on my iPod Touch, so I would be able to play my freshly bought I Love Katamari. But when I finally clicked the Update Button and agreeing to some License Agreement, I got this beautiful error:ituneserror1

“There was a problem downloading the iPod software for the iPod “my iPod”. You do not have permission to access the requested resource. Make sure your network settings are correct and your network connection is active, or try again later”

After googleing for only a few seconds, I found many others with the exact same problem, of whom most had posted their problem just a few hours prior. The only logical explanation I can think of, is that Apple’s servers are completely  overloaded by the vast amount of new iPod users after Christmas/Hanukah/Other Holidays. The only solution to this problem seems to be sitting it out throughout the next few days.

The question however arises, as to why Apple isn’t prepared for such an event? Increasing server capabilities  over the holidays seems reasonable to me, especially because this is not the first time something like this has happened. I think not being prepared for something like this is not very honoring towards Apple’s “It just works” philosophy.

Nevertheless, I will be waiting for my Update. Clicking the update button again, and again and again.

2 Responses to “Apple not letting iPod Touch users upgrade to v. 2.2”

  1. 1 Cheddar

    I called apple support this morning and the problem is indeed with Apple itself. Not enough bandwidth to handle all the incoming requests. My problem is that people that own the first gen iTouch should not have to pay the $10 for the upgrade to 2.2…especially since it solves some performance issues with the older operating system. If I was within my 90-day warranty from Costco I would have taken it back to Costco and gotten a new one.

    • 2 Pepper Ripploh

      I completely understand you. Although, strangely, until now I iTunes didn’t request any money from me for this update. I’ll see tonight if it does (If updates are working by then). It’s a shame really to ask that much money for an update that does not introduce drastic changes.


Leave a Reply

